The Azerbaijan Democratic Republic was established in 1918, but was incorporated into the Soviet Union in 1920. Azerbaijan is in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia, straddling Western Asia and Eastern Europe. Azerbaijan is a correspondent at the International Telecommunication Union and member of the Non-Aligned Movement and holds observer status in World Trade Organization. Azerbaijan led the world as the top reformer in 2007/08, with improvements on seven out of 10 indicators of regulatory reform.

For more info visit


Azerbaijan Regulatory Authority

In Azerbaijan, the basic regulatory functions are carried out by the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT). The ministry took the initiative for regulatory regime and it resulted in the formation of “The regulatory authority” on 27 September 2005; however MCIT is still at the early stages of its implementation.

Although there is no independent National Regulatory Authority in Azerbaijan because the implementation of the above could not be materialized, the MCIT as a telecom regulatory body (Government) – controls number of operators.
For more info visit